New website!

Recently I started a new version of this website from scratch, so here’s the inaugural post kicking off the new era.

The story, up until this point

When I graduated college, I joined a small Boston-based startup named Tamr almost immediately and stayed with them for 6 incredible years.

Along the way I tried my hand at “side projects”, in fits and starts. Some exposed me to new technologies, though didn’t go very far as a project. Some materialized into a what one might call “a thing that does something,” but still didn’t do very much. One of these side projects was a stab at a personal website.

However the thing about Tamr being my first job out of college, and offering so much in terms of exposure, exploration, expertise, guidance and support to someone who had explored so little at that point, was that I couldn’t help but throw my whole self into it. I got a lot back out, but there was not much of me left for these passion projects, no matter how much I wanted to do this type of self-guided exploration and development.

A couple months ago I left Tamr to see what life looks like when I’m not pouring my whole self into a job. I’m incredibly appreciative to be in a position where I can have a period like this in my life, so I know I need to make the most of it. During this time I want to ratchet up my focus on my health, my personal relationships, and my home life. I also want to pursue the self-guided exploration and production I’d been only tasting before.

This new website is an important component of that last bit. I’d like it to serve as a showcase for my efforts and discovery, and in that way as a source of personal motivation. I’d like it to be a nexus for my “personal brand.”

So who is this “Sam Roberts” anyway?*

* according to the Google index robots